Angebote zu "Choices" (45 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Imagining Paradise
37,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A world of poems as populous and diverse as it is ephemeral and evanescent, born of the world and of books and art in equal measure, yielding granite truths and feather truths of people's roller-coaster lives. The poet looks back, facing life and death and everything in between with equanimity, holding a steady hand to the quivering breast wherever there is breath. Published in The New Yorker, La Nouvelle Revue Française, and in nearly a hundred magazines and poetry journals from Los Angeles to Tokyo, from Lawrence, Kansas to Rome, Madrid, Paris, London, Beijing, and Bucharest, poems by Barry Gifford have been describing and changing our world for nearly half a century. Here in one volume for the first time is the poet's own choices from his nine previous collections, as well as a rich selection of new poems. Imagining Paradise sums up the tremendous achievement of an underground poet who lasted.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
Roll
10,84 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Winner of the 2018 Burr/Worzalla Award * A CCBC (Cooperative Children's Book Center) Choices 2018 Pick * A Bank Street Best Children's Book of 2017 A hilariously funny and poignant debut novel, perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli, Kat Yeh, Gary D. Schmidt, and Rebecca Stead. When Lauren (but call him 'Ren,” pretty please) Hall sees birds falling from the sky, he knows something is wrong. But just as he's starting to worry, he realizes that the birds are plummeting toward the ground on purpose. Turns out they're Birmingham Roller Pigeons, and his new neighbor Sutton is training them for a competition. Sure, it's strange, but Ren's best and only friend Aiden has picked this summer to start hanging with the popular kids. So Ren starts training pigeons with Sutton—what's the worst that could happen? A bird falls on his head? You'll have to read Roll to find out.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
Roll
9,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Winner of the 2018 Burr/Worzalla Award * A CCBC (Cooperative Children's Book Center) Choices 2018 Pick * A Bank Street Best Children's Book of 2017 A hilariously funny and poignant debut novel, perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli, Kat Yeh, Gary D. Schmidt, and Rebecca Stead. When Lauren (but call him 'Ren,” pretty please) Hall sees birds falling from the sky, he knows something is wrong. But just as he's starting to worry, he realizes that the birds are plummeting toward the ground on purpose. Turns out they're Birmingham Roller Pigeons, and his new neighbor Sutton is training them for a competition. Sure, it's strange, but Ren's best and only friend Aiden has picked this summer to start hanging with the popular kids. So Ren starts training pigeons with Sutton—what's the worst that could happen? A bird falls on his head? You'll have to read Roll to find out.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
Imagining Paradise
32,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A world of poems as populous and diverse as it is ephemeral and evanescent, born of the world and of books and art in equal measure, yielding granite truths and feather truths of people's roller-coaster lives. The poet looks back, facing life and death and everything in between with equanimity, holding a steady hand to the quivering breast wherever there is breath. Published in The New Yorker, La Nouvelle Revue Française, and in nearly a hundred magazines and poetry journals from Los Angeles to Tokyo, from Lawrence, Kansas to Rome, Madrid, Paris, London, Beijing, and Bucharest, poems by Barry Gifford have been describing and changing our world for nearly half a century. Here in one volume for the first time is the poet's own choices from his nine previous collections, as well as a rich selection of new poems. Imagining Paradise sums up the tremendous achievement of an underground poet who lasted.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
Before We Die Young
4,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

*** Readers' Favorite Book Award Winner *** 'Wow! Just, wow!' Can you feel it? I mean . . . really feel it? The strength of the elephant? The majesty of the lion? The cunning of the leopard? Jon and Michelle could. Luna and Ngombe could. When evil swept across the African Savanna, shattering their lives, they had to choose between love or revenge, between the real or the magical, and between killing or being killed. The story of those choices and their extraordinary adventures with a little rhinoceros called Victor, still echoes across the great plains of Africa. So, if you feel it too, then join us and stand together with the animals in their time of greatest need. Join us . . . before we die young. Readers' Favorite Reviews 'A unique voice and prodigious talent!' 'Completely unique in its story line, focus, and aim.' 'Highly creative and like nothing most readers would have read before.' 'An amazing story of courage, loyalty, compassion, and respect for all living things.' 'An emotional roller coaster, an incredible experience.' 'Magical and action-packed. Divinely entertaining.' 'Exceptional blend of action and a type of magic that I haven't encountered in most speculative fiction reads.'

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
Before We Die Young
3,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

*** Readers' Favorite Book Award Winner *** 'Wow! Just, wow!' Can you feel it? I mean . . . really feel it? The strength of the elephant? The majesty of the lion? The cunning of the leopard? Jon and Michelle could. Luna and Ngombe could. When evil swept across the African Savanna, shattering their lives, they had to choose between love or revenge, between the real or the magical, and between killing or being killed. The story of those choices and their extraordinary adventures with a little rhinoceros called Victor, still echoes across the great plains of Africa. So, if you feel it too, then join us and stand together with the animals in their time of greatest need. Join us . . . before we die young. Readers' Favorite Reviews 'A unique voice and prodigious talent!' 'Completely unique in its story line, focus, and aim.' 'Highly creative and like nothing most readers would have read before.' 'An amazing story of courage, loyalty, compassion, and respect for all living things.' 'An emotional roller coaster, an incredible experience.' 'Magical and action-packed. Divinely entertaining.' 'Exceptional blend of action and a type of magic that I haven't encountered in most speculative fiction reads.'

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
The Lifestyle Shoppe
13,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

Seeker, a young woman from the city of Commonplace, wanders into the Lifestyle Shoppe, seeking a life. The shopkeeper explains to her its three rooms: Broadway, Striveway, and Narrow Way. Seeker resolves to try out each room before deciding where to buy. On her journey through each room, she encounters people engaged in various attempts to discover that elusive commodity called happiness.Told with the feel of a modern-day Pilgrim's Progress, Seeker and other Lifestyle Shoppe characters, by the choices they make, ride a roller coaster to pinnacles of joy, both real and temporary, or plunge to the depths of anguish and sorrow. Plot twists throughout promise to keep the reader guessing as to how the story will end. The only certainty is that 'sooner or later, everyone buys from The Lifestyle Shoppe.'

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
The Lifestyle Shoppe
33,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Seeker, a young woman from the city of Commonplace, wanders into the Lifestyle Shoppe, seeking a life. The shopkeeper explains to her its three rooms: Broadway, Striveway, and Narrow Way. Seeker resolves to try out each room before deciding where to buy. On her journey through each room, she encounters people engaged in various attempts to discover that elusive commodity called happiness.Told with the feel of a modern-day Pilgrim's Progress, Seeker and other Lifestyle Shoppe characters, by the choices they make, ride a roller coaster to pinnacles of joy, both real and temporary, or plunge to the depths of anguish and sorrow. Plot twists throughout promise to keep the reader guessing as to how the story will end. The only certainty is that 'sooner or later, everyone buys from The Lifestyle Shoppe.'

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot
In My Father's Shoes
35,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

When the heart of a father crosses paths with the honor of a badge, the bloodline is sacrificed for love, respect, family, power, and greed. Meet the most powerful man to ever walk the streets of New York City. Street name 'Lefty,' his net worth exceeds more than one hundred million. To keep it, all he had to do was eliminate the one person standing in his way-his own father.Take the ride as you flip through the pages of In My Father's Shoes.This is a heart-pounding, fast-paced, end-to-end journey of a father and son looking to uncover their differences in respect, choices, and chance. Hang on as they both scramble to stay in touch within their own world. Unfold the drama and the untold story of the hard-core streets of New York. Get on board the thrill rides and hold on to your seat as you are taken on a roller-coaster ride like never before. Enjoy the ride.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 06.12.2019
Zum Angebot